14.02.2020 - Who will be crowned sprint World Champion?

The hunt for Gold, Silver and Bronze starts at 2:45 pm in the Südtirol Arena. The 7.5 km “short” track with two shooting sessions (once in prone position, once standing) is likely to be tremendously exciting.

The field at top in the women’s competition is very strong. One of the top favourites for the World Championship sprint is local athlete Dorothea Wierer. The biathlete from Rasun has already won the first two sprints of the season (Östersund and Hochfilzen). The Italian superstar also achieved a third place in the dress rehearsal for the World Championships in Ruhpolding. At the last World Cup sprint in Anterselva in January 2019 Dorothea Wierer finished eighth.

Overall World Cup leader Tiril Eckhoff from Norway can also look back to two wins this winter - in Annecy-Le Grand Bornand and in Ruhpolding. She currently lies in second place in the sprint classification with 195 points - 35 points behind leader Dorothea Wierer. On the other hand, Eckhoff's teammate Marte Olsbu Roiseland, who was successful in Oberhof, won the shortest individual distance in the 2019/20 season.

Of the World Championship medallists in Östersund only Tandrevold is at the start in Anterselva

At the last World Championships in Östersund in March 2019 the Slovakian Anastasiya Kuzmina won the Gold medal. Norwegian athlete Ingrid Landmark Tandrevold won Silver in the title fights in Sweden eleven months ago, while Laura Dahlmeier (Germany) was happy with her Bronze. Of these three, Kuzmia and Dahlmeier have retired from their brilliant careers.

The last World Cup sprint in Anterselva in January 2019 was won by Marketa Davidova from Czechia. 13 months ago, she won ahead of Kaisa Makarainen from Finland and Marte Olsbu Roiseland.
You could be interested in