22.01.2022 - Benedikt Doll wins mass start in Antholz

22.01.2022 - Benedikt Doll wins mass start in Antholz

Benedikt Doll from Germany won the mass start race at the Biathlon World Cup in Antholz in a thrilling finish against Johannes Thingnes Bø from Norway.

22.01.2022 - Benedikt Doll wins mass start in Antholz
The 31-year-old from Neustadt delivered a sensational performance in today's mass start, both in the cross-country as in the shooting range. Doll only missed one shot in this race. In the final shooting Doll was still behind Johannes Thingnes Bø. But the Norwegian missed one target, Doll hit all five targets and kept his impressive lead in the final round. There, the German even picked up speed and prevailed in 37:14.9 minutes. In the end he was 31.3 seconds ahead of the Scandinavian superstar Bø. For Doll it is the third World Cup victory in his career and the first in the mass start. The DSV athlete won his other two victories in the sprint.

Third place went to another Norwegian, Sturla Holm Lægreid. The 24 year-old high flyer of last season missed three targets and finished 1:28 minutes behind Doll. Fourth place went to the Frenchman Antonin Guigonnat. Overall World Cup leader Quentin Fillon Maillet had to settle for 8th place, individual winner Anton Babikov came in 10th.

Lukas Hofer in the top ten

Local hero Lukas Hofer also delivered a decent performance. The 32-year-old from Montana did not have his best day in the shooting range (four misses), but his running performance was good. In the end, the athlete from Val Pusteria finished in 9th place. The second "Azzurro" in the race, Thomas Bormolini, finished 28th after seven misses.

Today’s programme of the Biathlon World Cup in Anterselva will continue at 15:00 with the women’s relay race. A fantastic week of biathlon in Antholz will end tomorrow with the men’s relay and the women’s mass start.

Biathlon World Cup Antholz

15 km mass start Men
1. Benedikt Doll (GER) 37.14,9 (1)
2. Johannes Thingnes Boe (NOR) +31,3 (3)
3. Sturla Holm Laegreid (NOR) +1.28,8 (3)
4. Antonin Guigonnat (FRA) +1.34,7 (2)
5. Sivert Guttorm Bakken (NOR) +1.35,2 (3)
6. Tero Seppala (FIN) +1.42,1 (3)
7. Michal Krcmar (CZE) +1.54,1 (1)
8. Quentin Fillon Maillet (FRA) +1.55,5 (6)
9. Lukas Hofer (ITA) +1.56,4(4)
10. Anton Babikov (RUS) +1.58,7 (4)
11. Simon Eder (AUT) +2.03,0 (3)
12. Felix Leitner (AUT) +2.09,7 (4)
13. Tarjei Boe (NOR) +2.16,1 (6)
14. Vetle Sjaastad Christiansen (NOR) +2.25,7 (4)
15. Simon Destieux (FRA) +2.41,1 (4)

28. Thomas Bormolini (ITA) +4.53,0 (7)
You could be interested in